Forums Help & support Encrypted files have reverted back to old versions

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Prabhukumar R 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #26360 Reply

    Richard

    Hi,

    I have accessed my encrypted documents today and it is showing that they were last updated in late 2021. I have accessed and amended them many times since then and I can’t understand why they have reverted to versions which are many months old. I appear to have lot all of my updates since then which is less than ideal.

    The documents have been saved and accessed many time over the last 6 or so months.

    Please can you help me to resolve this issue.

    Richard

     

    #26369 Reply

    Prabhukumar R
    Moderator

    Hello Richard,

    AxCrypt will keep track on the opened encrypted files, to update and re-encrypt the same. If we opened the file and updated the contents, then AxCrypt will re-encrypt the updated file.

    So after editing the encrypted files, we have to click the broom icon from the AxCrypt app to re-encrypt the updated files. We have to close all the instance of the encrypted file(s) opened application.

    And the AxCrypt app will be checking whether the opened file and the corresponding application are closed or not? If closed, then the AxCrypt app will automatically update the contents of the file and re-encrypt the same.

    Actually, we have to close the file opened application completely, to update and re-encrypt the file. Sometimes, we have to manually click the red Broom icon, to clean and update the pending files.

    Please close the encrypted file and corresponding file, Please check the AxCrypt app every time, it will update the file, it’s then you can signout/exit from the AxCrypt app.

    You can encrypt files/folders. But you or any other system application(s) should not interrupt the AxCrypt app during the Encryption/decryption process. If you or other third-party applications will forcefully stop the AxCrypt app during the process, then the AxCrypt app will stop the process. your files are pending to re-encryption in this location(C:\Users\’User Name’\AppData\Local\AxCrypt). please check this location. if you find any file you can copy the content and save the content in the original file.

    The location(C:\Users\’user name’\AppData\Local\AxCrypt) is for the temporary decrypted copies of the files. Those will either be cleaned automatically at the earliest opportunity or when you click the red clean “broom” icon in AxCrypt.

    AxCrypt works by decrypting files temporarily and then launching the appropriate application for the decrypted file, which thus is entirely unaware of AxCrypt. AxCrypt monitors the system for the launched app to exit, and when it detects this it will re-encrypt the file and wipe (overwrite) the decrypted file and then delete it.          

    Note: The temporary files will be removed as soon as the opened encrypted file closed/signed out from the AxCrypt app.

    If the above doesn’t help, please write an email to our support team support@axcrypt.net.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
Reply To: Encrypted files have reverted back to old versions
Your information: