Forums Help & support 2.0 versus 1.7 and a New PC

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Jarrett 6 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Jarrett

I have been using Axcrypt for a few years and have a hard drive full of encrypted files that have different passwords based on the content of the files.  This is carefully and managed because I upload these files to cloud backup and want them encrypted locally before going to the cloud.  I have just bought a new PC and went to download Axcrypt again and now see the 2.0 version which looks completely different.

As I understand this, in 2.0 you can not have different passwords.

1) Is this correct?

2) If I install 2.0 how will all these existing files be managed since they all have different passwords?

3) If I decide to go with 2.0, is there a way to bulk convert old passwords to the new one?  If not what are the logistics of having some new and some old Axcrypt encrypted files?

3) Do I also understand that the log in file encryption password used is the same as my Axcrypt password and thus sent to Axcrypt  such that Axcrypt now has access to the password to decrypt my files.  I am aware that Axcrypt does not have access to the files themselves.

4) What is the downside of staying with 1.7 as this seems like much work to move to 2.0 and I lose the ability to have different passwords (which I highly value) and I do not see much benefit to 2.0?  What am I missing?

Thanks for the help as I need to get this figured out before I migrate my files to my new PC.

#7395 Reply

Jarrett

As a follow up, if I decide to go with 2.0 on the new PC, I have old PC files in 1.7.  What is the proper way to copy files to the new PC…

1) copy files then install 2.0 – will this then recognize the old 1.7 files without 1.7 ever having been on this PC

2) copy files – install 1.7 –  install 2.0

3) install 2.0 then copy files

or

4) install 1.7 – copy files – install 2.0